top of page


Accreditation offers a standard measure by which students and their families know that a school provides a quality education. Accredited schools in the U.S. have been reviewed by private, nongovernmental organizations to ensure the quality of education provided. 


Accrediting agencies for both private and public schools in the United States are regional. The four major accrediting agencies in the U.S. for K-12 schools include: 

  1. Cognia (formerly AdvancED) Accreditation Divisions: 

    • North Central Association Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement (NCA CASI)

    • Northwest Accreditation Commission (NWAC) 

    • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Council on Accreditation and School Improvement (SACS CASI)

  2. Accrediting Commission for Schools- Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)

  3. Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools (MSA)

  4. New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC)

Why is Accreditation Important?

Becoming an accredited institution is voluntary. However, being accredited assures the quality of the education provided, that educational standards are met or exceeded, and that the institution is committed to self-evaluation and self-improvement. Accreditation is important to us, and to our students, for these very reasons. That's why, together with our educational partners, we have sought and received accreditation from three of the regionally recognized K-12 accrediting bodies. Due to accreditation, our students are able to transfer credits between our school and other schools more easily, and university-level courses taken at The Brook Hill Academy are more likely to be accepted for university credit. 

Accreditation consists of continual assessment and evaluation, meaning that the accrediting bodies re-evaluate in an ongoing process to ensure that academic standards continue to be met, now and in the future. 

bottom of page